Thursday, July 25, 2013

Review: Undercurrent by Paul Blackwell

  • Publisher: HarperTeen
  • Publication date: 7/23/2013
  • Source: eARC provided by the publisher via Edelweiss
 Purchase: Amazon | B&N

In this suspenseful teen thriller with a touch of the otherworldly, perfect for fans of Neal Shusterman, a boy goes over a waterfall and wakes up to find himself in a twisted version of the life he knew.

A shadowy figure. An intense roar. The sensation of falling—fast.

That’s all Callum Harris remembers from his tumble over the waterfall. But when he wakes up in a hospital bed and finds his best friend trying to kill him, Callum knows something is seriously wrong. Unfortunately for him, the mysteries are just getting started.

Why are his parents acting like he’s some big sports star all of a sudden? And why are all the buildings in town more run-down than Callum remembers? Worst of all...what happened to Callum’s brother? Either Callum has gone seriously crazy or something happened when he went over the falls. Something impossible. Callum needs answers, and now. Because in this twisted new version of the life Callum knew, his former best friend isn’t the only one who wants to see him dead.

Filled with mind-bending suspense and unsettling thrills, Undercurrent is a grippingly paced teen debut that will pull you under and never let go.

My Thoughts

I love YA books told from a male POV. I really think there need to be more of them. Especially ones that the voice is so well done like this one was.I'm also really enjoying reading alternate reality/alternate universe books. This one was really great in that it was an alternate reality, but it was really focused on the one that Callum is in, and doesn't switch back and forth between them. I do tend to get a little confused trying to keep things straight so this was very refreshing for me. I also loved the mystery element of it all, even though I figured out what was happening pretty early.

The main character is Callum, and I really liked getting to know the real him (at least the one that we are currently in the head of). I also thought it was neat to get to know the alternate him who is totally different from who he is in his original reality. He is totally confused though. He wakes up in the hospital and soon discovers that things are very, very wrong. He has no clue what is going on, and slowly needs to figure things out. I thought that he made some really stupid decisions, but he managed. I liked that because he seemed very realistic to me. He messes up, he's insecure about things, he's scared. It makes me believe it more.

There's not really much more I can say about the story, but it was really great. There was a good mystery and thriller element to it, and even though it was alternate reality, it wasn't really focused on that except when it was important and necessary to the story. I also liked how it ended, and I hope that a sequel is made for it because I would love the story to continue. I thought that how we get Callum's memories from his other reality and then it goes into his current reality was done really well.It gives a well rounded story of how different Callum is in each one, and the reasons why he is. This was great!!


 * An advanced copy of this book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive any compensation.

26 comments:

  1. While I don't read many male POV novels, I still enjoy them to a great extent, my top two series have male protagonists interestingly enough. I look forward to meeting Callum when I read this, he seems real and flawed but relatable all the same.

    Great review! <33

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I love male POV's since there aren't many of them. Callum was a great character to read.

      Delete
  2. For the most part, I've heard good things about this book. I like male POV books too, but they need to be well-done for me to completely enjoy them. This one sounds like it's well-done and since it's written by a male author, it should be good! :)
    Callum sounds like such a realistic character. I will definitely check this out from my library.
    Lovely review, Amy! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. This is done really well. Callum was very believable to read.

      Delete
  3. I love male POV's too. Sounds like an interesting read.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was very interesting. And not confusing like some alternate reality books are.

      Delete
  4. With alternate realities and a male point-of-view, this sounds like a really good book. Glad you liked it, Amy!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was good. It was a really quick read too.

      Delete
  5. I've actually just seen negative reviews of this one so it was nice to hear some positive things. I'm not sure I would read it, but I'm not completely opposed, I may do so one of these days.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Super cool review! I don't read much from male pov and there always so different. Thanks for sharing.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Ooh, this definitely looks like a creative story! I rarely ever see male POV books, and the fact that he's realistic is even better, because it's so rare to find something like that :) I'm glad that you really enjoyed the story, and that the alternate reality topic was easy to follow, because I always get confused easily too! :)

    Fantastic review, Amy! I'm glad that you liked this one!

    ReplyDelete
  8. This sounds like it was a good read. I haven't read very many YA books that had the male POV, but it does sound like a nice change from what I'm use to. :-)

    (BTW, it's been too long since I've been by!!! I LOVE THE NEW LOOK!)

    ReplyDelete
  9. Yay I really liked this one too! I liked how it was a much more simplistic look at the parallel universe trend that is going on now. A lot of others seemed to be bothered by the lack of answers but I thought it really worked here. Great review love!

    ReplyDelete
  10. I haven't read this one yet- but it does sound like a great one. I like the fact that it is a male POV. The alternate universe sounds intriguing. Thanks for sharing!
    ~Jess

    ReplyDelete
  11. That sounds a bit like Flip, by Martyn Bedford, which I enjoyed--I'll look out for this one!

    ReplyDelete
  12. I have debated this one. I love the male POV. Glad you enjoyed.

    ReplyDelete
  13. I'm also a fan of the male POV when it's done well. I'll definitely consider this one!

    ReplyDelete
  14. Hmmm, I am still on the fence about this one. I mean, I love alternate reality stuff, but it sounds like it's more of a plot point than anything. Hmmmmmmm. Meh. Oh well, not like I have time for it now, so I'll decide later. Glad you liked it!

    ReplyDelete
  15. So far I've been hearing nothing but good things about this one and since I absolutely love alternate realities and the like, I'll definitely be checking this one out eventually! Happy you enjoyed it and thanks for the great review!

    ReplyDelete

  16. - رش مبيدات
    تتميز شركة الاول بانها تستخدم افضل معدات رش المبيدات في المملكة
    وتم تعريف المبيد الحشري على انه هو مبيد آفات يستخدم ضد الحشرات في جميع أطوار نموها.

    وتستخدم الاول جميع انواع المبيدات مثل :
    1- المبيدات النقية
    2- المبيدات البودرة
    3- المبيدات المركزة المستحلب
    4- المبيدات القابلة للذوبان في مواد اخرى مذيبه
    بالاضافة الى وسائل الرش مثل الرش الدخانى والرزازى والتعفيري والضبابى البارد والحرارى
    الاول لتفوقها في مجال رش المبيدات تعد افضل شركة رش مبيدات شمال بالرياض وافضل شركة رش مبيدات بجدة وافضل شركة رش مبيدات بالمدينة المنورة وشركة رش مبيدات بالاحساء وشركة رش مبيدات بالخبر و شركة رش مبيدات بالخرجو شركة رش مبيدات بابها و شركة رش مبيدات بالقصيم و شركة رش مبيدات بينبع
    وافضل شركة رش مبيدات بالجبيل

    ReplyDelete
  17. شركة الاخلاص افضل شركة نظافة بالرياض
    المنازل والفلل والشقق والسجاد والموكيت باستخدام افضل المنظفات وباجهزة التنظيف بالبخار فان كنت في حاجة الى افضل شركة تنظيف بالرياض يمكنك الاتصال بنا في اى وقت نصلك اينما كنت

    افضل شركة تنظيف بالخرج


    ومن خدمات شركة الاخلاص :
    1- مكافحة الحشرات فان كنت تعانى من انتشار الحشرات يمكنك الاستعانة بافضل شركة مكافحة حشرات بالرياض


    للقضاء على كافة انواع الحشرات و شركة رش مبيدات بالرياض تقوم باعمال مكافحة الحشرات بالرياض باستخدام اقوى المبيدات الحشرية
    2- كشف تسربات المياه تقوم الاخلاص شركة كشف تسربات المياه بالرياض بالكشف عن تسرب الماء للحفاظ على المبانى من الانهيار ,ولحل مشاكل ارتفاع فاتورة المياه والكهرباء لابد من التاكد من عدم موجود تسربات للمياه في منزلك الاخلاص تقدم افضل خدمة كشف تسربات المياه شرق الرياض وتعد اهم شركة بالرياض وبالمملكة وتستخدم احدث الاجهزة الالكترونية للكشف عن التسربات بالذبذبات الالكترونيه
    3- عزل الاسطح تقوم الاخلاص شركة عزل اسطح بالرياض
    باستخدام افضل مواد العزل المائي فالاخلاص تتميز بجودة العمل واتقانه ويتم عمل اكثر من اختبار للتاكد من جودة طبقة العزل فالاخلاص افضل شركة
    4- نقل الاثاث ونقل العفش شركة الاخلاص افضل شركة نقل عفش بالرياض
    تقوم بنقل العفش والاثاث داخل وخارج الرياض والمملكة وتتوفر لدينا افضل سيارات نقل عفش بالرياض مخصصة ومجهزة لنقل العفش
    شركة نقل عفش بالخرج



    وتعد شركة الاخلاص افضل شركة تنظيف بيوت بالرياضتقدم افضل تنظيف للمنازل والبيوت بالرياض والمملكة باستخدام افضل الالات التنظيف واحسن المنظفات العالمية
    تقوم بتنظيف الخزانات من الاتربة والطفيليات باستخدام افضل مواد تنظيف خزانات بالرياض ومن خدمات التنظيف الاخرى التى تقدمها شركة الاخلاص افضل شركة غسيل خزانات بالرياض



    وطبقا لما ذكرته ويكيبديا بلدية الشمال هي إحدى بلديات مدينة الرياض في المملكة العربية السعودية
    الأحياء التابعة لهاعدل
    حي الربيع
    حي الندى حي الصحافة حي النرجس
    حي العارض حي النفل حي العقيق حي الوادي
    حي الغدير حي الياسمين
    حي الفلاح حي بنبان حي القيروان حي حطين حى الملقا

    ReplyDelete

My blog is now an award free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but stopping by is reward enough for me. Thank you so much!!

I have been getting a ridiculous amount of spam comments so I have disabled anonymous comments. If you are an anonymous user and a real person, I apologize.

I love comments! I will try to respond to as many as I can. I read every one of them, even if I do not respond to them all.