Monday, January 27, 2014

Review: Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

  • Publisher: HarperTeen
  • Publication date: 1/28/2014
  • Source: eARC Provided by the publisher for review
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | The Book Depository

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13645645-uninvited

My Thoughts

A dystopian that is refreshing from the hordes of them out there! I was a bit nervous going into this since I haven't had the best of luck with this genre lately, but luckily this one stood out among them. I loved the idea of people having the "Kill Gene" and being isolated from the rest of civilization. People who have been seen as normal amongst others until they are found to have HTS and now are all of the sudden seen as dangerous. They are not allowed to exist normally among others anymore. Now Davy's world is totally turned upside down. This book has a lot of violence, a lot of disturbing situations, and suspense to keep you engrossed until the end.

Davy has grown up having a pretty good life. Her family is rich and she is really smart. Her boyfriend is the most desired boy in the school, and she has a fantastic best friend. That is, until she is found to have HTS. All of her dreams come tumbling down. She irritated me thinking that she was so different from all the others, that there must have been a mistake. It takes her too long to realize that maybe she's not different from the others with HTS, but that they are wrongly judged. Maybe not all of them are bad like she has always thought. Tossed into a different world with other HTS carriers, she needs to learn how to survive this new life. She does find some allies that she feels she can trust, but she is still terrified of most of the other carriers around her. She really grows as the story goes on and I loved how brave she became. She knows that she can't be weak and scared anymore and she will do what she has to in order to survive.

I really enjoyed Sean. He seems so scary and intimidating, but I could always see the gentle and caring person underneath. He terrifies others around him, but he mostly keeps to himself. He also protects those around him when he can. As we get to see more of him and uncover parts of his past, it just makes him that much more likeable. He is a very guarded and mysterious character, but he is able to let Davy in. We see the fear that he has in him, when outwardly he seems like such a dangerous person. I couldn't get enough of him and want to know more!

Like a lot of others, I do wish that there had been more of what was happening outside Davy and where she is. I did like the little news type snippets, but it wasn't enough for me. We see how things are getting worse on the outside, and how the government is cracking down on the HTS carriers, but we don't know the actual situations of outside. I loved reading this in Davy's POV, but I really felt like a lot was missing for me. That being said, I thought that this was incredibly good. The whole idea of it all and how the people are treated who have HTS. This was a truly fantastic addition to the dystopians out there and I am looking forward to more of this series!!





*An advanced copy of this book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive any compensation.

7 comments:

  1. I really loved Sean too and this book was pretty much awesome! I can't wait to see what happens next.
    Great review, Amy!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Sean was so amazing!! I NEED to know more about him!!

      Delete
  2. Yeah I totally agree Sean and Davy were both great characters with how developed they are really blew my mind. I didn't notice the thing about how there wasn't much happening outside Davy but I can see what that may have bothered you. Glad you still liked it overall though! <33

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I get that since we are in Davy's head so we get limited outside information, so I was able to get past it, but I would have liked to know more. At least we had the little snippets between chapters. :)

      Delete
  3. I was really surprised by how much I liked this one, too! I have not have the best of luck with this genre either it seemed like each one was worst than the last. I think I liked this one a lot bc we were just experiencing the start of a dystopian from a society that was relatively normal (well with the kill gene but you know what I mean lol). I also really liked Sean. He IS mysterious and it's part of why I like him. I agree about wanting more about the outside world but I'm hoping book 2 will bring some more world building overall! :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. I really enjoyed this one too and I didn't think I would when I picked it up. I actually wasn't all that bothered by the lack of details from the outside world as I think it contributed to the feelings of isolation Davy had. And I also loved Sean. :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. This isn't something that I would normally pick up, but I have to admit...your review makes me curious.

    ReplyDelete

My blog is now an award free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but stopping by is reward enough for me. Thank you so much!!

I have been getting a ridiculous amount of spam comments so I have disabled anonymous comments. If you are an anonymous user and a real person, I apologize.

I love comments! I will try to respond to as many as I can. I read every one of them, even if I do not respond to them all.