Wednesday, May 21, 2014

Review: V is for Villain by Peter Moore

  • Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
  • Publication date: 5/20/2014
  • Source: ARC provided by the publisher for review
 Purchase: Amazon | B&N | The Book Depository

Brad Baron is used to looking lame compared to his older brother, Blake. Though Brad's basically a genius, Blake is a superhero in the elite Justice Force. And Brad doesn't measure up at his high school, either, where powers like super-strength and flying are the norm. So when Brad makes friends who are more into political action than weight lifting, he's happy to join a new crew-especially since it means spending more time with Layla, a girl who may or may not have a totally illegal, totally secret super-power. And with her help, Brad begins to hone a dangerous new power of his own.

But when they're pulled into a web of nefarious criminals, high-stakes battles, and startling family secrets, Brad must choose which side he's on. And once he does, there's no turning back.

Perfect for fans of The Avengers, Ironman, and classic comic books, V is for Villain reveals that it's good to be bad.
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18453183-v-is-for-villain?ac=1

My Thoughts

It's not often that you get a story from the villain's POV, so I was really excited to read this one. The battle between heroes and villains has been going since forever, and we get to see it from the other side in this story. It's not that the villain's are bad people, they are just fighting for what they believe is right. Everyone wants justice, but in which way it is achieved is a fine line between right and wrong.I loved getting to know the side of these teenagers who were anti-hero. It's not that they don't want the world to be a good place, they just don't believe that the heroes go about it in the right way. It's a creative, fun, and adventure filled story that kept me engaged throughout. I admit that I am a huge comic book fan, so this was a really fun read for me.

Brad is in the academy to train students to be heroes. Only he has no real powers. Not like his father or brother who are pretty much idols for theirs. He is super intelligent, but that is about it. A joke to all the fliers, student's with super strength or speed, and even to the teachers who think his brother would be ashamed of him. When he gets put into the alternate classes, which are for those who come from powerful families, but have no strong powers of their own, he joins up with a group of friends who are against the so called heroes. They are villains, but not bad ones. He finds that he actually does have a power, and a very strong one at that. He keeps it a secret from anyone except those in his group. He finds out soon that he is in way deeper than he expected joining a villain group and trying to help expose a hidden secret that could change everything. He is smart, tough, and has a good heart. I really liked him.

The secondary characters were well developed too. I loved Layla, and even though he annoyed the crap out of me, I really liked Javier. He was a bit too arrogant, and control crazy for my taste, but it made him seem real. Boots and Peanut were really likeable too. I despised Brad's brother Brady. He was such a tool. He let the whole idolized hero thing go to his head, and would even betray his family for it. I was glad that the author took the time to explore the other characters. It made it a more enjoyable story.

This was a fun take on the hero/villain story. I loved that the school aspect reminded me of a Disney movie that I love, and that this was told from Brad's POV. He started off so confused and lonely, and came to be so strong and knowing what he really wants to do. I enjoyed getting to know why things are the way they are, and how the secrets were revealed. I am assuming with how this ended this will be a series. I really hope so. I know that in this case, I am team villain all the way!!


*An advanced copy of this book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive any compensation.

7 comments:

  1. Woah, interesting story. I often think the villain pov of view is always bad but what if there are reason for their anger? Will have to check this out.

    ReplyDelete

My blog is now an award free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but stopping by is reward enough for me. Thank you so much!!

I have been getting a ridiculous amount of spam comments so I have disabled anonymous comments. If you are an anonymous user and a real person, I apologize.

I love comments! I will try to respond to as many as I can. I read every one of them, even if I do not respond to them all.