Saturday, July 5, 2014

Review: Dark Metropolis by Jaclyn Dolamore

  • Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
  • Publication date: 6/17/2014
  • Pages: 304
  • Source: ARC provided by the publisher for review
 Purchase: Amazon | B&N | The Book Depository

Cabaret meets Cassandra Clare-a haunting magical thriller set in a riveting 1930s-esque world.

Sixteen-year-old Thea Holder's mother is cursed with a spell that's driving her mad, and whenever they touch, Thea is chilled by the magic, too. With no one else to contribute, Thea must make a living for both of them in a sinister city, where danger lurks and greed rules.
Thea spends her nights waitressing at the decadent Telephone Club attending to the glitzy clientele. But when her best friend, Nan, vanishes, Thea is compelled to find her. She meets Freddy, a young, magnetic patron at the club, and he agrees to help her uncover the city's secrets-even while he hides secrets of his own.

Together, they find a whole new side of the city. Unrest is brewing behind closed doors as whispers of a gruesome magic spread. And if they're not careful, the heartless masterminds behind the growing disappearances will be after them, too.

Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, this is a chilling thriller with a touch of magic where the dead don't always seem to stay that way.
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/12483970-dark-metropolis?ac=1

My Thoughts

First, I have some major cover love for this!! I think it's absolutely gorgeous!! (And a bit creepy with the shadow person.)  I didn't love this book unfortunately, but I did still like it. I thought that the romance was a bit...odd and it was sometimes disorienting with too much going on at once, while at other times there isn't much going on. The pacing just seemed off to me with a lot of rush, then back to too slow. This jumps around from person to person as things are being revealed an uncovered and I did like that because we get to see all sides of what is going on. I never really felt like we got to know any of the characters well except maybe Nan though.

Thea is the main character, but really she felt more of a side character to me. The story focuses around her and her mother. She is working to support them both because her mother has bound sickness since her father has been gone. If she is discovered then she will be taken away. Thea has already lost her father, she doesn't want to lose her mother. At times she feels like she's a burden, but she still would never want her gone. Besides that and her being close with one of the girls, Nan, we don't get to know her much.

Frankie is the reviver. He is trapped in his life of using his magic to revive people who have died. He doesn't initially know why, or what happens to them after. He does it because it keeps his real family safe and well. Once he learns more about what is happening, he is angry and hurt that he's been lied to. Not only about the people he's revived, but about himself. I liked Frankie. He has a good heart and he was thrown into a life of being used for his power. He wants to do what is right. He's quite a charmer too in an odd sort of way.

Nan was my favorite. She has a lot going on. I think that we learned more about her than anyone else in this story. I can't tell you what without ruining things, but she is very complex. She ends up right in the heart of things. She is the link that helps everyone uncover the mystery. She is very different from the others. She has always been different. I loved how her part in the story was done and I enjoyed getting to know her. I think the parts of the story that were focused on her were the best and really kept me going.

The magical element to this is pretty cool, but I wish we knew a bit more about it. We get a bit here and there about the past, but not a lot. The plot was great and I loved the way that the story all went. Like I said before, it's a bit choppy at times, but still enjoyable. The characters needed a little more development as well. Just a personal thing for me. I tend to be a very character driven reader, and I didn't really connect to any of them. Overall this was a good book though and it was a quick read.


*An advanced copy of this book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive any compensation.

5 comments:

  1. I think Chayse read this book. He said I ought to give it a try. Thank you for being honest.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I maintain such information much. I used to be seeking this particular information for a very long time Online Case Study help

    ReplyDelete

My blog is now an award free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but stopping by is reward enough for me. Thank you so much!!

I have been getting a ridiculous amount of spam comments so I have disabled anonymous comments. If you are an anonymous user and a real person, I apologize.

I love comments! I will try to respond to as many as I can. I read every one of them, even if I do not respond to them all.