Tuesday, August 19, 2014

Review: Amity by Micol Ostow

  • Publisher: EgmontUSA
  • Publication date: 8/26/2014
  • Source: eARC Provided by the publisher for review
 Purchase: Amazon | B&N | The Book Depository

For fans of Stephen King and American Horror Story, a gruesome thriller suggested by the events of the Amityville Horror.

Connor's family moves to Amity to escape shady business deals. Ten years later, Gwen's family moves to Amity for a fresh start after she's recovered from a psychotic break.

But something is not right about this secluded house. Connor's nights are plagued with gore-filled dreams of demons and destruction. Dreams he kind of likes. Gwen has lurid visions of corpses that aren't there and bleeding blisters that disappear in the blink of an eye. She knows Amity is evil and she must get her family out, but who would ever believe her?

Amity isn't just a house. She is a living force, bent on manipulating her inhabitants to her twisted will. She will use Connor and Gwen to bring about a bloody end as she's done before. As she'll do again.

Alternating between parallel narratives, Amity is a tense and terrifying tale suggested by true-crime events that will satisfy even the most demanding horror fan.
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/19141361-amity?ac=1

My Thoughts

Being a fan of horror I was excited for this one. I really thought it would be kind of a retelling of Amityville horror, but unfortunately it wasn't. Yes, it has a lot of similarities, but it's a completely different story. This takes place in Massachusetts on the Concord River, where Amityville takes place in New York on the south shore of Long Island. I know that isn't a big deal, but it kept really bothering me. (Who knows, it could be about legal rights and all that jazz) It still has the similarities of the house, the boathouse, the time 3:15am holding significance, some of the events that happened, and the "red room" as it's called in this. I did like it, but I wanted more creepiness. The way it was told never really gave me the chills or made me want to hide under my blanket or turn on the lights. I liked that it was told in the "then" and "now" perspectives of different families living there. The "then" is 10 years previous and told by Connor, and the "now" is told by Gwen. Both have history of mental issues and have been seen by psychiatrists and such.

I will start off with Gwen. Her family has moved to Amity (which is what they call the house) with hopes that it will be good for Gwen. No one wants to say that she's crazy, but they all think it. They think she is fragile and that it's easy for her to get crazy ideas in her head. Her brother Luke has always been the one to stand by her. I wasn't sure if she was actually crazy or not. It was possible it was the house, and also possible that this was just a total mind f*&%. I liked that feeling of not really knowing, though I was convinced that it was totally the house.

Then we have Connor. He is possibly a sociopath. He's sweet and caring toward his sister, at least until Amity gets to him. I really liked his POV because it was entertaining to read. He is brutally honest and I loved the way he thought about things and explained things. I liked that he seems very detached from things, but is slowly being taken over by Amity. Or maybe not? Same as with Gwen, it's hard to tell whether the house is really at fault, or his mental issues.

Both stories follow the same pattern of the brother slowly getting taken over by the house. Having an obsession with the boathouse and the basement. Becoming someone else. The difference is that in Connors case, he is the one who is doing the bidding of Amity, and in Gwen's it is her brother Luke who begins acting weird and becoming mean. The two timelines are happening at the same time with it alternating back and forth as things happen. Both only being 28 days as the real Amityville was.

I was really hoping for creepy, but this just didn't do it for me. The story didn't come to life and jump off of the pages at me. It was just words on a page. I didn't feel the fear and emotion that I wanted. I was hoping for more violence and gore, but it just wasn't there. This was more psychological which isn't a bad thing, but you know how it is when you go in hoping for one thing and get another. I know that the real Amityville horror was psychological too, but it was scary where this one wasn't. This was a good solid story though. It just didn't wow me.


*An advanced copy of this book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive any compensation.

8 comments:

  1. YAY! I love horror movies so I think this book is something I should read around Halloween. Also, I'm giving away a copy as well.

    ReplyDelete
  2. fascinating books here specially this one i am a big fan of horror and scifi kindly write up some books on space horror genre i will really appreciate it Online Case Study help

    ReplyDelete
  3. Get your Finance Assignment Help, Homework, Project Help Online for Students in UK, USA, and Australia by Professional finance writers at affordable prices.
    Finance Assignment Homework Help

    ReplyDelete

My blog is now an award free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but stopping by is reward enough for me. Thank you so much!!

I have been getting a ridiculous amount of spam comments so I have disabled anonymous comments. If you are an anonymous user and a real person, I apologize.

I love comments! I will try to respond to as many as I can. I read every one of them, even if I do not respond to them all.